The Faculty of Arts was established in 1972 during inception with History Economics Political Science (HEP) combination. In 1973, the History Economics Sociology (HES) combination and in 1996 Kannada Sociology Political Science (KSP) was introduced. Subsequently, the Sociology Kannada Journalism (SKJ) and Psychology Journalism Sociology (PJS) combinations were also introduced. The Faculty of Arts has been ranked by India Today Neilsen Survey, 2015 as 41st among the best 50 Arts colleges in India and 6th best among colleges in Bangalore City.